Different file systems supported by Linux

To understand file systems in Linux, we first need to know what is a Partition,  A partition is a logical part of a disk.

A file system is a method of finding / storing files on hard disk. Following file systems are supported by linux.

  • Conventional disk filesystems: ext2, ext3, ext4, XFS, Btrfs, JFS, NTFS, etc.
  • Flash storage filesystems: ubifs, JFFS2, YAFFS, etc.
  • Database filesystems
  • Special purpose filesystems: procfs, sysfs, tmpfs, debugfs, etc.

Difference in Windows and Linux filesystems are as follows.


 Windows  Linux
 Partition  Disk1  /dev/sda/1
 File system type  NTFS / FAT32  EXT3/EXT4/XFS…
 Mounting Parameters  Drive letter  Mount letter
 OS is stored  C drive  /


Linux operating system has a standard hierarchy to store the files called Filesystem Hierarchy Standard, or FHS.

‘/’ is used to separate paths unlike windows that uses ‘\’. Linux does not use drive letters like windows. New drives are mounted under file system as directories.

clicking on computer in any Linux distribution will open all directories in ‘/’ which is known as root directory.

Click ‘CTRL’ + ‘L’ to see the current path.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.